top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWilliam Vlietstra

A Personal Analysis of Rogue

Today I will be telling you about an old game called rogue. I will be detailing my time with the game and a little bit of the history of the game as well.

Rogue, which is sometimes called Rogue Exploring the Dark Dungeons of Doom, is a dungeon crawling developed by Michael Toy and Glenn Wichman. Rogue released in the year 1980 and was inspired by games like Star Trek from 1971 and colossal cave adventure from 1976. In Rogue you explore a dungeon and make your way through each floor trying to get to the lowest level so you can obtain the amulet of Yendor. As you crawl your way through the dungeon you can pick up potions, spells, armor, and weapons that can make your journey easier along the way. You can also pick up treasures like the gold dropped by monsters or treasures found around the map.

Rogue reminds me very much of my favorite mobile game called Pixel Dungeon. Which much like Rogue is an open source dungeon crawling game. But this one also has aspects of a RPG. The best way to describe the game in this context would be Rogue but with better graphics and more content. These two games are so similar that I got a feeling of nostalgia for Pixel Dungeon while playing Rogue. I would highly recommend playing Pixel Dungeon to anyone looking for a good time. In pixel dungeon I could make it consistently to the 25th floor but in Rogue I can make it past the tenth and that’s probably just because I haven’t put enough time into the game to understand it fully. Sorry for this personal analysis being shorter than most of my other ones. I just don’t have a lot to say this time around.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page