top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWilliam Vlietstra

Outer Wilds

When I was younger I had always dreamed about visiting the stars and exploring. As I grew older I come to realize that it wont happen, and the thought of never exploring the stars has saddened me ever since. That all changed late last year when I found a game called "Outer Wilds". I recently beat this game, I have never enjoyed a game so much in my entire life. Sitting down and playing this game for the first time is hard, not because the game is bad or lacks polish but because you're thrust into a world where you know absolutely nothing. You come into this world having woken up from a sleeping bag on your launch day. You are not tasked with anything. You may try to go towards the elevator that leads to your ship, or you may talk to the man sitting next to you when you wake up, or you might just walk towards town and talk to people there. And that is the beauty of this game, you aren't given an objective, you simply wake up and your either stumble upon the launch codes or you talk to someone and they mention where you can find it. The tutorial is completely skip-able, and not in the sense that you get put into one and there is a skip button. but it's naturally build into the game in a way that you wouldn't even notice that they are your tutorial. If you so choose you could walk right past them and never do them before you leave the world. I won't get into spoilers because this game should be gone into completely blind but I will say this, be ready for one of the most terrifying, awe inspiring, beautiful, and mysterious games you'll ever play. The only downside to a game like this is that the likely-hood of finding another game of this caliber or better is very very low.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page