top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWilliam Vlietstra

A Personal Analysis of Thief: The Dark Project

What the heck is Thief: The Dark Project brochacho? Well chill out and I will tell you. I was told to play Thief: The Dark Project, and I did just that. I was also told to write about it here and that is what I am doing. I’ll be filling you in on a little bit of the history of the game and my experience with it.

Thief: The Dark Project is a first person stealth based game that released on December 1st, 1998. It is a stealth video game created by Looking Glass Studios and was published by Eidos Interactive. Thief takes place in a medieval steampunk metropolis called the City, that’s a mouth full. In thief you play as a man named Garrett, who, despite the games name, is a master thief who was trained by a secret society. You carry out a series of heists and eventually end up becoming caught up in an attempt to prevent great power from releasing chaos on the world. Thief is famous for being the first pc to make use of lighting and sound as game mechanics. Thief also used very complex artificial intelligence in addition to this to allow for the use of emergent gameplay.

When I got around to playing through the game, I only put time in to Lord Baffords Manor. Within the first few seconds of spawning in I heard some guards and a random person talking about going to the bear pits tomorrow. One of the guards said that he wouldn’t go because he saw what the bears used to be like and how the new bears that have some armor and weapons built in aren’t as good as the old ones. I thought this was cool world building shower how deprived yet advanced these people are. After that I went into the sewers and got lost. I eventually found a room with some gold and a lever in it that opened the gate next door. I went through the gate and up a latter which put me behind a guard and I jumped into a well. From there I swam around until I found a hole in a wall that led to what looked like a store room. I waited for some guards to leave and when they split up I killed one and hid the body. I went up a bunch of stairs and found a cook and I killed him too and ate all the food and then hid his body. From there I wondered around and pulled some random levers and found myself in an area that reminded me a lot of the quest line from skyrim that has you assassinate the emperor. I then hid in an art room as someone was approaching. Once they left I continued to make my way around until I got caught. I redid the steps I took before several times until I make it past this find myself in a stony place filled with the sound of dropping water. I go up what I think is a tower and continue to sneak around and got a little lost, I looked up some tips for the area and someone online said to cut through a purple banner hanging on the wall. I find myself on some rafters and then I put out the torches with some water arrows and kill a guard that lets me into the thrown room. I walk through some door and wonder around more until I pass the mission.

Overall a very fun game and I would definitely get a bunch of friends together and do something like our darksouls runs and try to beat the whole game with friends and every time we die we have to pass it to the next person and put a gumball in our mouths. I look forward to playing this game again, it’ll be even more fun with friends.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page